4 February Journal

Good Morning Everyone! Its A Sunny Sunday Finally…… After a week of clouds and ice and freezing temps, it is a wonderful thing to see the sun and the ice to melt away. Yesterday I think the most of it melted though a little bit remains on the porch area that was shaded. The pictures below are of the trees Friday Morning. I think it is so pretty to see the sun reflecting in and through the ice on the trees. Sadly I did not get the picture I wanted but, was able to get something. We are in for a warmer week. Part of the week is expected to get wet before we get cold again come the weekend. I do know that I would have loved to look out from my hammock on morning to see the ice on the trees while camping. Though that could be a dangerous thing to do as ice could and will cause the limbs and even whole trees to fall. That could be a bad thing if it falls on you.

Yesterday I spent most the day after errands doing work. Yes I spent my saturday and probably today also, WORKING. I am attempting to finish up the inventory I started on nearly two weeks ago. I am done with the actual counting. I am not yet done with the research of part numbers and putting them on the inventory sheet that I have to send in to the Corp office. It was 7.5 hours and I got a good part of the research done. So now i am planning to spend part of today putting the information on the sheet then anything missing I will hunt down on the count sheet.
In the midst of that, I managed to get dinner made over a 4 hour course of smoker operation. We had Smoked pork loin and some smoked stuffed poblano pepper. That pepper was stuffed with a mashed potato topped with flaky type of parmesan cheese. I promise you this was some good stuff. The sauce I made up, a mix of molasses and other items, was super good and what was left was saved to the mason jar, labeled and put in the fridge. We will be using that again. We have thoroughly enjoyed the last couple of smoked meals we have made on the new smoker. We still have to get some things that I would like for particular meats. Such as a sweet wood for the white meats and the mesquite and oak for the darker meats. Being in the land of Dixie has its issues when it comes to the idea of what a good BBQ or a smoked meat is supposed to be. I am waiting to make up some smoked burgers on the thing. Not just BBQ over the coals but a slow cooked up burger. Maybe even put some taters in a foil and smoke that also. Something I have not done in a very long time.

So folks, I have ordered some items. A yoga mat for Beau, a new Hammock under quilt for me that is warmer and lighter, some other camping things we needed to replace or add to our needs. Only the under quilt has been delivered so far. I can say it is much lighter. It sure did not feel like anything was in the box. I have yet to weigh it in comparison of what I have been using. I did try it out last night and was much warmer than I had been in the past, even in the house I could tell that I would be more comfortable. Not only in my hammock but on the trail as well. Cannot wait to try it out when we go out next. I also ordered some wool stuff for me and a tarp that is a little bit bigger and some new tent pegs to replace the ones we have that have gotten bent.

Well folks, I have to get my chores done and get on this inventory stuff. I am ready to be done with inventory and move on to other things that are not as stressful. Have a wonderful day and week everyone!!

TTFN
Love Candi

4 thoughts on “4 February Journal

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.